Mary’s Music

Isn’t this a cool quilt?  I love the fabric.  Mary said she bought up all that black fabric with musical notes that she could find, so I doubt we will be able to find it anywhere.  The picture of the front makes it look distorted, but it is actually draped from the top of my design wall and hits (on fabric) the floor. 

IMG_1596

Here is a close-up of the quilting I did.  I don’t know if Mary found it yet or not, but I quilted a quote by Lawrence Duncan into it in the lower right (as you look at it); “Silence is the fabric upon which the notes are woven.”  It just seemed to “fit” this quilt.  Further towards the top, I also quilted “music 2 my s”.  Hopefully that will be easier to find than the quote. 

IMG_1597

The back looks really cool, I think.  I have to admit that I was a little worried about it after I got it on the frame.  Seam lines always draw the fabric in so the surrounding fabric is not as taut.  But, it turned out fine.  I think Mary was very creative with this backing.  It goes great with the fabric and patchwork on the front. 

IMG_1593

2 thoughts on “Mary’s Music

Leave a Reply

