Where’s Waldo?

Do you like to cook?  I will cook to provide meals for myself and others, but I don’t enjoy cooking.  My husband, on the other hand, becomes an artist when he cooks.  He can taste what’s missing and what is needed.  He’ll have me taste things to see what’s missing, and I am lost.  I don’t know.  And, I don’t care.  It’s fine just like it is.  Now, let’s eat.  But, that’s not going to happen.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m not complaining.  I think I’m one of the luckiest ladies in the world to have a husband who cooks.  It’s very sexy when a man cooks for a woman, imho.  I may be partial, but I think this guy is the best cook I know.  He throws stuff together and voila, it’s a masterpiece.  I don’t know how he does it!  He uses spices like artists use paints and is always buying some new spice to try, which leads to my dilemma.

Ever have a cabinet you hate to open for one reason or another?  Maybe it’s because there’s stuff in it you shouldn’t be eating, and you know if you open the cabinet door, you will eat whatever is in there.  Or, there’s so much stuff crammed in there that if you open that door, the stuff will fly out at you?  Well, here’s our spice cabinet.  It started out as a small cabinet to the right of the stove.  As we got more and more spices and it was harder for me to find the one I was looking for, I moved them to another cabinet, bigger with more room to spread out.  The glasses that were on the bottom shelf were moved to the middle shelf, so we could easily see the spices and locate what we needed.  As time went on, however, this is what has happened.

mc quilt 001

Can you help me find the Chili Powder?  Those spices go about 5 containers back, and the lid to the Chili Powder is RED.  This cabinet began with only the bottom shelf having spices and spread out.  Then they got crowded and migrated to the middle shelf, where the glasses got pushed over and the less used glasses moved to the top shelf.  Now I find that the spices are migrating into the “glass” section of the middle shelf; not because of me.  Someone has added to his collection, and the new spices are traveling to places in front of the glasses I use.  So… I’ve put the glass he uses next to the spices.  I’m not sure it will work as a “block” but… really?  Where am I going to move the glasses to when it’s all said and done?

3 thoughts on “Where’s Waldo?

  1. Gee Ida, I think you need to invite me over for lunch/dinner (that your hubby cooks, of course) and then I’ll help you figure out where to put the spices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

